• Browse Spots
  • Review a Spot
  • Add a Spot
The Basics
Venue Categories
Some text
  • Activity Stream

All Reviews

TNH is the best way to find and connect
with local people and businesses!
Sign Up
June 23rd, 2017 at 4:05 am

I came here for dinner and this place was so crowded, so I had to wait for a while.
The menu is good with many Vietnamses dishes.Price is ok, tasty food.

The only thing should be improved is their service.

June 14th, 2017 at 11:13 am

I love this new clinic in the neighborhood. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Some of them speak English so it's pretty easy to communicate. Facilities are new and the place is very clean. And most importantly, services are reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

no photo available
June 13th, 2017 at 11:05 am

I've been studying with Mai for a few months and my Vietnamese has improved a lot. She can tailor made the lessons according to your level and ambitions. Good teacher.

no photo available
June 2nd, 2017 at 3:35 am

I have worked for MIC for over two years now in that period I have been placed In some great Teaching positions and truly have been able to enjoy real Vietnamese culture all that aside , I have enjoyed working for MIC they have always paid me on time or in advance if I have ever needed any help ! They supplied me with a 125cc scooter that was great when I first started teaching for them in Hanoi even though I only had minor experience I was placed in a position two days after my initial interview .I've read some bad reviews about the company , as usual there are two sides to a story such as teachers getting drunk and missing classes or taking money in advance to help them and then leaving the company with no notice all of which are breaking your contract so read the contract carefully if you don't like it talk to them or don't sign it , I have worked for other companies in Vietnam where you only receive 1000us at the current rate but pay your own accommodation and I have met teachers in Dong Hai who only receive 800us but with accommodation and they think I'm receiving great money but Dong Hai is beautiful so they are happy, I'm receiving 1450us at the conversion of 21000 dong a month but no accommodation costs so I'm very happy over all with MIC they have helped me always and never refused time off when I've needed to take off for family reasons as long as they have some notice in advance . I believe if you want to teach in Vietnam away from the cities is the best way to meet and be immersed in the culture , I have worked two school years at the same secondary school thanks to MIC and will be going back for a third after the summer holidays because they are the most wonderful teachers and friends I could have ever hoped for , schools this big and away from major cities will only hire you through companies such as MIC or centers , you cant just walk in off the street . I will continue to work for MIC for future years ! so read you contract properly no matter who the company is if you break your contract and they revoke their sponsorship you could be asked to leave or even banned from Vietnam in some cases by immigration .
Best regards Mr John Terry

no photo available
June 2nd, 2017 at 2:47 am

A friend of mine put me in touch with Yen and I'm so glad she did, I travelled around Vietnam for seven weeks and she booked trains, buses and taxis for me whenever I needed them. She had great advice for places to visit wherever I went and brilliant suggestions for accommodation too. Her advice on the cheapest and fastest routes was so helpful and she is always quick to respond. The best and most cheerful travel agent I've come across in Vietnam, I can't recommend her enough!

no photo available
May 31st, 2017 at 2:54 am

Very professional online florist. Been a customer for more than 2 years and will continue to be one for many years later. Keep up the good work.

no photo available
May 27th, 2017 at 8:54 am

There is not enough negative words in the dictionary for me to fully convey how much I hate this company and Doan (one of the staff at the company). The company lied to me, wasted my time and I got banned from Vietnam because of them!

The first thing you need to know about this company is it is a recruitment company rather than a school or language centre in its own right.

When I had an interview with them I did not have any teaching interview. I did a demo lesson and they gave me lots of pointers on how to improve. I said I wanted part time work in Hanoi. We agreed on an hourly pay of $19 because of my lack of experience.

They quote you in dollars but pay you in dong. They have an atrocious exchange rate. They pay 21,000 Dong per 1$. Whereas a dollar is actually worth over 22,000 Dong. This may not seem like a big deal but it all adds up. At today's conversion rates (27th May), 399,000VND (19*21,000) only equals $17.59.

On the 24th Jan Doan said a lot of schools shut on that day for TET holiday and would open again around the 10th. I thought MIC would email me on the 9th, 10th or 11th regarding training or a potential job. On the 12th Jan I gave them a nudge.

They replied to my email and I agreed to go to there office on the 16th Feb. On the 16th they announced they didn't have work in Hanoi and asked me if I would be interested in working outside of Hanoi, doing 100 hours for $1200 and free accomodation. I was surprised the pay was so low, they said it was because the job was located outside of Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh. At the time I still trusted the company and did not have any teaching experience so I stupidly agreed to this terrible contract. At the time I had not even factored in the terrible conversion rate. It would probably actually of ended up being closer to $1150.

They then asked me to get my original documents sent from home and asked me to to do a visa run to Bangkok so they could get me a business visa. The flights and taxis to and from the airport cost over $200.

I got back to Hanoi on the evening of the 22nd Feb and then had to wait to the 27th to watch another teacher doing a lesson. Bear in mind every day I was sitting around waiting in Hanoi, I was spending $14 on food and accomodation.

Then after the 27th I did not hear anything from MIC. On the 4th March I said to them I will have to start applying to other companies because I could not afford to just keep sitting around. They told the government I was no longer working for them and said my business visa could now be treated as a tourist visa.

I did some trials with other companies and after an unsuccessful trial I returned to Hanoi. The immigration police then came knocking and started asking me why I was not working for MIC. I tried to explain to them that MIC never offered me a proper job.

Based on information a contact of mine told me, I now have reason to believe that MIC lied to the immigration department and said I just suddenly stopped responding to any of there calls. I get the impression they did not admit that they never were able to find me work.

Because of the fiasco with MIC I got banned from Vietnam.

Here are some more reviews of MIC

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1271106179640068/?hc_location=ufi

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1032634680153887/?match=bWlj&hc_location=ufi

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1039257099491645/?match=bWlj&hc_location=ufi


https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1907025002859593/?match=bWlj

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1910542292507864/?match=bWlj

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1977667982461961/?match=bWlj



In hindsight you do not need to sign up to a recruitment company to get work in Hanoi. Instead you can use this site (tnhvietnam) and the Hanoi English Teaching Jobs Facebook page. I have got many interviews ad job offers through the Facebook page. I just email my CV to anyone who advertised a job on the Facebook page. On my CV there is no teaching experience.

If you want to work outside of Hanoi and Ho Cho Minh you can still get jobs paying $20 an hour. If you want to work outside of the two major cities you do not need to lower your pay expectations.

May 27th, 2017 at 2:26 am

Quality is acceptabel, price OK (not cheap!) but customer service shall be improved! Why they never manage to deliver on time?? Either way too late or too early! At least inform me when you are 40 minutes late!

No credit for being socially responsible. If you charge high rates then please deliver high quality incl. service!). I will order again but will look for other options as well!

no photo available
May 26th, 2017 at 7:03 am

This is the worst delivery company in Vietnam
Absolutely no customer support

no photo available
May 23rd, 2017 at 4:03 am

I've been in Hanoi for a little over 3 years and there's no other visa service that I used than Miss Ly's. I highly recommend her to anyone. She's prompt with her replies, efficient with her solutions and highly professional. A remarkable agent. Also, her customer service is top notch. I've never had a problem with her services. She's also a really good person. There's no other place I would go to for my visa needs. Thanks, Miss Ly.

no photo available
May 22nd, 2017 at 10:43 pm

I've benefited a few times from Miss Ly's excellent services and intend to continue the relationship in the future. I'm happy with her level of English, thrilled with her competency in completing her work in a timely manner, and thankful for her very good customer service skills. I've never had any problem with the product. I recommend her.

no photo available
May 21st, 2017 at 11:25 am

We first met Ms Ly for a visa renewal assistance 4 years ago, and we liked her right away because she was easy to talk to, offered a reasonable price, and generally very helpful.
Since then we have always come to her to help book tours for my family and friends. She would always tailor her tour suggestions based on the group's needs (ie elderly, young adults, children, couples). It was always easy to call her for any issues before, during, and after the tour.
She's very honest and trustworthy. We highly recommend her.

no photo available
May 15th, 2017 at 6:14 am

Where to start....

No water in the gym is massively annoying. Just one water pump per gender - hidden away right in the back of their changing rooms. So if you want to refill your bottle you have to leave the gym and go all the way back there. Several weeks after opening this hasn't changed. Presumably they want you to buy water bottles from reception instead.

Still no TV channels on the running machine. First week they said they hadn't hooked them up yet. Weeks later they still haven't.

But what they do have which are, of course, working just fine - are screens playing adverts on a loop. They drive me insane.

The music. Oh god the music. The first time I was there they played the same song over and over again till I asked them to stop. Yesterday they played 45 minutes solid of Ed f*cking Sheeran whine. Played at levels louder than anything you can achieve on your own headphones. You cannot avoid it. I've never understood the need to play music when everyone is wearing headphones to try and block it out. It's loudest in the changing rooms. Who needs music in changing rooms?

I keep politely asking them to turn it down and they say yes. But don't. Even if I am the only one in the gym. Also you are constantly reminded that classes are about to start as a loud speaker shouts at you to join in. Speakers are placed every couple of meters so it's impossible to escape and there is no quiet part of the gym.

What else? You have to bring your own padlock for your gym locker. I'm currently on a try before you buy month free membership and I have to bring my own towel and fill out a form each time to re-enter all the details that I already gave them as part of the signing up. The towel thing is laughable - as if I'm an international towel thief going to vast lengths to join gyms just to steal their towels.

Beyond that (and the Trump-esque decor) - it's just the same old thing of bored staff looking at phones. The guard permanently stationed in the changing room (despite us all having to bring our own locks) - sits there reading his phone hidden inside his hat. Why not just ask staff to not use phones during work hours?

The other point is the parking. Okay, so the building is not finished but that vast steep ramp into the underground parking is a death trap on a bike. Also there is no lift so you have to go up and along various concrete corridors with wires hanging out of the walls and constant drilling.

In general it's just not a pleasant experience. It adds to stress rather than removes it. I hope they'll see sense and sort out the worst of it - particularly the music. Can't we have a quiet zone? Then I can consider becoming a permanent member.

Two stars because actual equipment seems decent - it's just the rest that needs work.

no photo available
May 13th, 2017 at 11:42 am

More Hair moved several months ago.
Bich is now at Pan Pacific on Truc Bach while Thuy is - I belive - at Times City /
Times Square - Minh Khai

no photo available
May 12th, 2017 at 2:58 pm

I just returned from a one-week trip to North Vietnam that planned by Hoang Yen Travel Agency, I was thrilled with the hotels, tour, and local guides that Miss. Maria arranged for me at Hanoi & Sa pa & Ha Long Bay, when I told Miss. Maria where I want to visit and what kind of trip I prefer, she responded quickly and gave me the professional recommendations, she also arranged for local tour guides in Ha Noi which is exceptional, she provided information on local sites and culture that I could not have gleaned from a guidebook. My tour also included all transportation to/from airports as well as locally, and this proved to be convenient and comfortable as well.

I strongly suggest to give them a try on your next booking.

no photo available
May 11th, 2017 at 5:33 am

The only reason I didn't give 1 star is that the treatment can be good sometimes.

You better have money if you want treatment in a reasonable amount of time. We had insurance, with "direct billing". We were made to wait so long that my wife collapsed in the hallway. We had no choice but to cough up close to $1000 for a deposit just to get her in a hospital bed. Vinmec is all about money- it's certainly obvious by the way we were treated.

Some of the doctors are great. But good luck trying to deal with billing or insurance. My friend had to wait 90 minutes just to pay a bill.

no photo available
May 11th, 2017 at 4:02 am

I want to tell my recent story so that people can hear about Nick Veltre and his high level of dedication he gives to his clients.

I purchased health insurance for my wife and child. My wife developed a medical problem which was quite serious. We went to one of the international hospitals to get her admitted.

My insurance advertises that it is a "direct billing partner" with the hospital. This means that a person should be able to show the insurance card, receive a guarantee of payment and be admitted to the hospital without paying cash upfront.

The international hospital was so inefficient and very incompetent in regards to their insurance department and billing. My wife was waiting for hours at a critical time. She collapsed in the hallway. I had to pay a deposit of 20 million VND. I didn't have a choice, my wife needed care. Luckily, I carry cash.

Nick Veltre was excellent. He was writing emails to the CEO of the insurance company and to the director of the hospital. He did not pull any punches. The hospital has developed a practice of grabbing cash from people who are in a desperate situation. The insurance company was also trying to weasel out of their obligation.

Nick wasn't having any of that. He was emailing nonstop for two days. The insurance company finally provided the guarantee of payment.

Nick then told us that we need to claim any expense 30 days prior to the hospital visit and 90 days after the visit. We didn't know about this practice, and we saved hundreds of dollars more.

Nick really had to go after the hospital and the insurance company to make them do what they were supposed to do!

Now, Nick is negotiating with a better insurance company to try and get my wife's condition accepted.

I highly recommend Nick Veltre and Regency International Insurace.

no photo available
May 10th, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Highly recommended travel consultant in Hanoi. A must for any traveler in Hanoi. Super friendly and easily approachable. Whenever I need anything in Hanoi,I will always ask Yen, as she will find the perfect trip or solution to any of my traveling needs.

no photo available
May 6th, 2017 at 7:59 am

Yen is amazing. She is super helpful, and always responds quickly. She has helped me organise many wonderful trips and visas. She always makes sure that everything runs smoothly. Whenever I need travel advice I always contact her. She is usually happy to help in any way she can.

no photo available
May 6th, 2017 at 4:42 am

Maria is the absolute best!
Having her help throughout my time in Vietnam has been a godsend. I have organised many tours and transportation with this agency and have had a brilliant experience each time. Any questions are answered quickly and clearly and with a super friendly attitude!
Maria goes above and beyond for each customer, and always checks to make sure you're happy with the arrangements. I have recommended her to many friends and family and will continue to do so.
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!