• Browse Spots
  • Review a Spot
  • Add a Spot
The Basics
Venue Categories
Some text
  • Activity Stream

All Reviews

TNH is the best way to find and connect
with local people and businesses!
Sign Up
July 25th, 2017 at 6:45 am

I honestly don't know why this place gets such impressive reviews. Only thing outstanding here is the decor, but the food is very average in my opinion. I have enjoyed far better quality in Indian food elsewhere in Hanoi and other VN cities. VERY AVERAGE INDIAN FOOD AT DALCHEENI!

no photo available
July 23rd, 2017 at 6:39 am

Good pool, good alcohol, friendly staff. Great place to spend a night after work.

no photo available
July 19th, 2017 at 5:33 am

I have now been working for E-connect for 2 months and have never been made more welcome by a company. I understand that in the past, mistakes have been made. This is only down to lack of experience and things getting too big too fast. The effort that has now been put into making the whole company as professional as possible is second to none. I have contacted many existing members of staff and none of them have ever been underpaid, as stated by the the previous reviewer. The new branches are all completely refurbished and modern. The teacher contract and it's many many benefits would be hard to beat and I can say that with 8 years teaching experience in many different countries. what i will say to any teachers looking for a comfortable, steady contract with a full course provided for all classes, is to come and have a look for yourselves and then make up your own minds and to not only believe a review written by somebody who may or may not have had a problem in the past.

no photo available
July 12th, 2017 at 11:59 am

A lovely coffee shop with Japanese and English flavor. Excellent macha tea and coffee. Try the Ginger Tea!

July 3rd, 2017 at 8:42 am

That terrible review kept me from going to Big C for many months, but the truth is that my trip to this market (by bus #50 from E. Ba Dinh) was pretty good, and I'll go again. I couldn't find everything I needed, but this is crazy Vietnam, after all.

July 3rd, 2017 at 8:33 am

A great deal of fun at Games Night at Tea Talk Cafe

Y'all come!

July 3rd, 2017 at 4:05 am

hi there. ive been working for kella now for about 5 years. it suits me down to the ground. working mornings and afternoons gives me the free time i like in the evenings and the weekends. i get left to teach in my own style, and get to teach grade 10 and 11 (about 16 years old) which i find to be more fun than younger kids. for an experienced teacher who is confident of their ability and doesnt need much support, this job is a winner.

no photo available
July 1st, 2017 at 11:38 pm

I have just come back from a two week holiday in amazing Vietnam and I would like to highly recommend Miss Ly's Travel Agency in Hanoi.
We booked everything we did through Miss Ly's Travel Agency and we enjoyed every moment of our trip thanks to the fact that Miss Ly is absolutely reliable and we got much more than we thought we would.
All the day trips were filled with interesting activities which included lunch wherever we went and our guides were simply outstanding!
I highly recommend Miss Ly's Travel Agency! You will be fully satisfied with her professional and efficient work.

no photo available
July 1st, 2017 at 12:27 pm

I originally wrote my high scathing review of MIC on the 27th May. I decided to delete my original review and post a new review of the company. The sole reason being that I did not want my review to be buried underneath a review which is clearly fake or MIC put significantly pressure on one of their teachers to write the review.

The fake review I am referring to is by Peter Thomas. There are a few reasons why the review rings alarm bells. Between March 23rd 2015 and 27th May 2017 there had been 4 reviews of MIC. Less than a week after I posted my highly scathing review suddenly a review gushing with praise for the company appeared. The timing in itself is incredibly suspect.

The review is clearly trying to counter my review. Peter Thomas discusses a number of same areas as me such as the 21,000VND conversion rate issue and he talks about the consequences of having your business visa revoked.

Peter Thomas mentions how there is always two sides to each story about staff and the company falling out of love. I want to emphasis the fact that MIC never got me a job. I never turned up drunk or late to work because they never found me any work.

I acknowledge that my first interview with MIC was bumpy. I made many mistakes, I was inexperienced. MIC never had the guts to tell me that I was not good enough. They just told me to do a visa run and assured me there was work waiting for me once I got back from Bangkok. Then when I got back from Bangkok they just tried to stay quiet and duck under the radar. Still they did not have the guts to turn to me and say 'look you are not good enough, this will not work out'. Only after I kept messaging them did I eventually get the truth from them.

Peter Thomas made the comment that the schools away from the major cities (Ho Chi Minh, Hanoi and Da Nang) will not employ teachers directly and to get them jobs you have to use recruitment companies such as MIC. There is very much a flip side to this comment. The reason schools outside of the tier 1 cities and tourist areas use recruitment companies is because at least in some instances they struggle to recruit people on there own. A significant number of backpackers are reluctant to relocate outside of Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh. The company I am working for at the moment is having to put many incentives in place to encourage the people currently working for the Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh branches to relocate.

Here is my original review -

There is not enough negative words in the dictionary for me to fully convey how much I hate this company and Doan (one of the staff at the company). The company lied to me, wasted my time and I got banned from Vietnam because of them!

The first thing you need to know about this company is it is a recruitment company rather than a school or language centre in its own right.

When I had an interview with them I did not have any teaching interview. I did a demo lesson and they gave me lots of pointers on how to improve. I said I wanted part time work in Hanoi. We agreed on an hourly pay of $19 because of my lack of experience.

They quote you in dollars but pay you in dong. They have an atrocious exchange rate. They pay 21,000 Dong per 1$. Whereas a dollar is actually worth over 22,000 Dong. This may not seem like a big deal but it all adds up. At today's conversion rates (27th May), 399,000VND (19*21,000) only equals $17.59.

On the 24th Jan Doan said a lot of schools shut on that day for TET holiday and would open again around the 10th. I thought MIC would email me on the 9th, 10th or 11th regarding training or a potential job. On the 12th Jan I gave them a nudge.

They replied to my email and I agreed to go to there office on the 16th Feb. On the 16th they announced they didn't have work in Hanoi and asked me if I would be interested in working outside of Hanoi, doing 100 hours for $1200 and free accomodation. I was surprised the pay was so low, they said it was because the job was located outside of Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh. At the time I still trusted the company and did not have any teaching experience so I stupidly agreed to this terrible contract. At the time I had not even factored in the terrible conversion rate. It would probably actually of ended up being closer to $1150.

They then asked me to get my original documents sent from home and asked me to to do a visa run to Bangkok so they could get me a business visa. The flights and taxis to and from the airport cost over $200.

I got back to Hanoi on the evening of the 22nd Feb and then had to wait to the 27th to watch another teacher doing a lesson. Bear in mind every day I was sitting around waiting in Hanoi, I was spending $14 on food and accomodation.

Then after the 27th I did not hear anything from MIC. On the 4th March I said to them I will have to start applying to other companies because I could not afford to just keep sitting around. They told the government I was no longer working for them and said my business visa could now be treated as a tourist visa.

I did some trials with other companies and after an unsuccessful trial I returned to Hanoi. The immigration police then came knocking and started asking me why I was not working for MIC. I tried to explain to them that MIC never offered me a proper job.

Based on information a contact of mine told me, I now have reason to believe that MIC lied to the immigration department and said I just suddenly stopped responding to any of there calls. I get the impression they did not admit that they never were able to find me work.

Because of the fiasco with MIC I got banned from Vietnam.

Here are some more reviews of MIC

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1271106179640068/?hc_location=ufi

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1032634680153887/?match=bWlj&hc_location=ufi

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1039257099491645/?match=bWlj&hc_location=ufi


https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1907025002859593/?match=bWlj

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1910542292507864/?match=bWlj

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1977667982461961/?match=bWlj



In hindsight you do not need to sign up to a recruitment company to get work in Hanoi. Instead you can use this site (tnhvietnam) and the Hanoi English Teaching Jobs Facebook page. I have got many interviews ad job offers through the Facebook page. I just email my CV to anyone who advertised a job on the Facebook page. On my CV there is no teaching experience.

If you want to work outside of Hanoi and Ho Cho Minh you can still get jobs paying $20 an hour. If you want to work outside of the two major cities you do not need to lower your pay expectations.

no photo available
July 1st, 2017 at 5:57 am

Avoid this company. They frequently don’t pay Vietnamese staff and western staff full wages if any. Conditions of housing are not as pictured. Many rats and cockroaches about, (not a few, but a full infestations). When we asked owners to resolved this either by purchasing traps or calling an exterminator, the director informed us that the cost of traps would come out of the Vietnamese’s wages who do not reside in the building. Absolutely disgusting.

Furthermore, the accommodations have little to no privacy being above and below classrooms. Students will often accidently or on purpose find their way into your room. Showers and bathrooms are communal, with no toilet seats or properly locking doors.

The company as a whole is disorganized with no actual guidance being given to teachers. No provided resources and company demands that you purchase a computer. Teaching schedules are obviously mashed together in very little time with no thought. They are absolutely chaotic, often causing mass confusion among the teachers.

no photo available
June 30th, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Minh is the best, he runs an incredibly reliable business. We have been here for almost a year and are always met with kindness and flexibility. When we experienced a flat and were close by we rolled in, he fixed everything correctly and even offered us part of his lunch. I recommend Minh's to anyone who is looking for a place to rent motorbikes at a quality establishment with competitive rates!

June 30th, 2017 at 8:22 am

Calif Fitness still pretty good, but I have a few issues in the men's locker room. Steam room needs cleaning more often - just plain inadequate! Sauna has broken wooden slats! Slippery floor in shower area - just plain dangerous! What's up with those lazy guards - get them off their phones and get them cleaning/fixing.

no photo available
June 29th, 2017 at 10:25 am

Yet again Mr Nam smashed the visa ball out of Vietnam Stadium. Two 6 month visas at short notice. Min fuss. Excellent communication and although it was 11th hour and this makes you fret....DON'T. If Mr Nam says he can do it....he will . If he cannot he will also tell you. If i could get this service on every aspect of my life every day.....NIRVANA

June 29th, 2017 at 8:18 am

I was one of 9 people for lunch. I had to ask the waitress to come over to take my order. I waited 20 minutes for my order of paneer tikka lucknawi (85k), plain nan (28k) and masala tea (35k). The paneer and veggies were burnt! The nan was okay, but the masala tea was plain and only ½ of cup! I had to ask the waitress to come over and give me the invoice/bill. I recommend finding a different Indian restaurant.

June 14th, 2017 at 11:13 am

I love this new clinic in the neighborhood. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Some of them speak English so it's pretty easy to communicate. Facilities are new and the place is very clean. And most importantly, services are reasonably priced. Highly recommended!

no photo available
June 13th, 2017 at 11:05 am

I've been studying with Mai for a few months and my Vietnamese has improved a lot. She can tailor made the lessons according to your level and ambitions. Good teacher.

no photo available
June 2nd, 2017 at 3:35 am

I have worked for MIC for over two years now in that period I have been placed In some great Teaching positions and truly have been able to enjoy real Vietnamese culture all that aside , I have enjoyed working for MIC they have always paid me on time or in advance if I have ever needed any help ! They supplied me with a 125cc scooter that was great when I first started teaching for them in Hanoi even though I only had minor experience I was placed in a position two days after my initial interview .I've read some bad reviews about the company , as usual there are two sides to a story such as teachers getting drunk and missing classes or taking money in advance to help them and then leaving the company with no notice all of which are breaking your contract so read the contract carefully if you don't like it talk to them or don't sign it , I have worked for other companies in Vietnam where you only receive 1000us at the current rate but pay your own accommodation and I have met teachers in Dong Hai who only receive 800us but with accommodation and they think I'm receiving great money but Dong Hai is beautiful so they are happy, I'm receiving 1450us at the conversion of 21000 dong a month but no accommodation costs so I'm very happy over all with MIC they have helped me always and never refused time off when I've needed to take off for family reasons as long as they have some notice in advance . I believe if you want to teach in Vietnam away from the cities is the best way to meet and be immersed in the culture , I have worked two school years at the same secondary school thanks to MIC and will be going back for a third after the summer holidays because they are the most wonderful teachers and friends I could have ever hoped for , schools this big and away from major cities will only hire you through companies such as MIC or centers , you cant just walk in off the street . I will continue to work for MIC for future years ! so read you contract properly no matter who the company is if you break your contract and they revoke their sponsorship you could be asked to leave or even banned from Vietnam in some cases by immigration .
Best regards Mr John Terry

no photo available
June 2nd, 2017 at 2:47 am

A friend of mine put me in touch with Yen and I'm so glad she did, I travelled around Vietnam for seven weeks and she booked trains, buses and taxis for me whenever I needed them. She had great advice for places to visit wherever I went and brilliant suggestions for accommodation too. Her advice on the cheapest and fastest routes was so helpful and she is always quick to respond. The best and most cheerful travel agent I've come across in Vietnam, I can't recommend her enough!

no photo available
May 31st, 2017 at 2:54 am

Very professional online florist. Been a customer for more than 2 years and will continue to be one for many years later. Keep up the good work.

May 27th, 2017 at 2:26 am

Quality is acceptabel, price OK (not cheap!) but customer service shall be improved! Why they never manage to deliver on time?? Either way too late or too early! At least inform me when you are 40 minutes late!

No credit for being socially responsible. If you charge high rates then please deliver high quality incl. service!). I will order again but will look for other options as well!