TNH

  • Browse Spots
  • Review a Spot
  • Add a Spot
The Basics
Venue Categories
Some text
  • Activity Stream

All Reviews

TNH is the best way to find and connect
with local people and businesses!
Sign Up
no photo available
December 9th, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Hi all,
I always see same doctor in FMP, this time I saw Dr.Mike, great doctor, highly recommended. FMP is expensive but worth every $ you pay.

JD

no photo available
December 8th, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Driver was perfectly on time and went to the desk to warn us.
Also helped with our suitcase even if the weight was a bit more than regular one.

My main complain is the speed he was driving, way faster than the others car and I can see 110Km/h on the speed meter when driving on the bridge. This is not acceptable as a service as I put my life in its hands. He don't need to impress me with his driving skills. Too fast is too fast, period. I can understand that Vietnam driving can be scary, but living for the last 15 years in China, I can assure you that your driver was faster than the others vehicles for sure.
It was not an impression at all. Passing cars and changing lane by the right side of the road at this speed is also not acceptable. The driving experience within the city was fine.
He also answer his phone during driving which is not allowed by law.
The car was going 110Km/h on the motorway where speed limit is 90 Km/h.

After complaining to the company contact (Lily), she asked me lie and to not put this review online... The excuses was that the driver was late to pick up another client. (and do not explain why answering the phone too).

I guess It's enough for you to avoid them on your next trip to Vietnam. I will be kind of surprise if they are even get insurance on their side if something happens.

It gives also a right idea of the great review you can find about them online.

I use the service on Dec 6, 2017, at 7.15, from Fortuna Hotel to the International airport.

Feel free to contact me for a copy of the email from them.

no photo available
December 7th, 2017 at 3:42 pm

TVO is an amasing teaching group. Before I was learning Vietnamese with TVO I bought studybooks and spend hours trying to work on my pronunciation. Yet, in the first lesson I had learned really a lot and I gained also quite a lot of confidence from it. The teachers are really patienced and kind. The best part is that they train you to actually blend in the Vietnamese society. So, If you're looking for a fun, practical and effecient teaching experience, TVO is your place to be :)!

no photo available
November 23rd, 2017 at 1:42 pm

A Little Hoian - Coffee & Tea represents Hoi An Ancient Town right in a corner of Hanoi City will make every guest feeling warm and welcomed when stepping inside.

November 22nd, 2017 at 4:06 am

I've learned with TVO for the past month nearby where I'm currently staying. I've decided to renew for another 10 lessons because of how effective they've been. The teacher was highly motivated and professional and the lessons were planned carefully. They were engaging and memorable, so I've retained most of what I've learned and I'm so happy with the amount of progress I've made. I would recommend TVO to anyone.

no photo available
November 20th, 2017 at 7:04 am

Read the other reviews, ignore the ones they put on facebook. Doesn't surprise me they have been banned for making fake accounts and posting reviews.

1st impressions they are nice but wait...
The company and especially the director will try to belittle you, and make you feel lucky you landed this dodgy job.
As others said she is a total sociopath.

Lesson plans don't make sense, TA's barely can hold a conversation in English. Teach 50+ students, every day you have to teach different schools hours away from each other.

They will try to find faults to give you less money or knock you down a notch, but they will try to keep you working there still.

Scum. Dodgy. Unprofessional. Liers. And proven they use fake accounts to boost their terrible reputation.

no photo available
November 20th, 2017 at 3:53 am

I have a plan open 1 class in my house for children from 4- 6 ages learning English, Can u help me to complete my plan. Please send me information about fees for 1,5 hours- 2 hours? Thanks u

no photo available
November 18th, 2017 at 9:53 am

Avoid this company. I was hired as an English teacher but had to leave due to gross dishonesty and organization issues.

They tell their teachers that they're going to employ them legally, but they're never going to make progress with the working permit. I spent a lot of money getting all my documents organized, only for my papers to collect dust. Contract was never signed, when asked about it I was always told different excuses.

There is no schedule, no lesson plans, no curriculum, no equipment, nothing. Everything is randomly made up on the spot. There's no telling whom you'll be teaching because they don't assign children to classes, just have them randomly join the lesson. Children keep arriving to the classes with no place to sit, you'd start with 20 children then by the end of the lesson there would be 45 children in your class.

I would work hard and try to organize things myself, but the manager would always interrupt my classes and have children do something else. Classes would always descend into chaos and the worst thing is, parents can see it. The whole place is full of cameras and your work is evaluated constantly. But at the same time, you don't get to do your job properly because you're sabotaged. Classes are interrupted or cancelled at the last minute, random people keep going in an out of the room (if there is a room...), you're told what you'll have to do five minutes before the lesson... and then you get blamed for all the problems, even though you don't have much say in matters. I was promised 1200$/month for full-time work (from 7:45 to 17:00), which is not much considering how much I was working, but I was also told this was the salary on the probation period, and if they're satisfied with my work they would raise it to 1400$. Spoilers: you're never going to make it out of probation period. And your classes are never going to be good, because they'll sabotage everything. The environment is unsuitable for learning.

Didn't get paid. I suspect the parents were scammed as well, but I have no proof of that.

no photo available
November 15th, 2017 at 10:45 pm

After completing my TEFL over the summer in HCMC, E-connect offered me a job at one of their branches near Hanoi. They offered a generous $25/hour and monthly salary and, after looking over the contract, I decided to accept. I flew to Hanoi where one of the staff picked me up and brought me to the nearby town where the branch was located. I was alarmed to learn the branch had not even been built yet! Only one or two other teachers had been hired at this point, and we were all put up in a rancid “love motel” nearby.

My biggest regret was not leaving within the first week. My room in the motel had standing water on the floor and the door would not lock. I mentioned this to the owner a few times, to no avail. When I asked about signing the contract, the office manager said I couldn’t until I got a work permit (I later learned some teachers had signed before leaving their home countries). I had to leave within a few days for a visa-run, as is typical when starting with a new company in VN. The office manager flew me to Bangkok for a day, but upon returning immigration agents refused to let me back into the country since the letter I was given for the business visa had the wrong arrival date on it. Panicking, I began calling the few phone numbers I had been given by some staff, but no one answered. Six hours later (at around 1:00 AM) someone called me back and I was able to hand it off to the immigration agent, who begrudgingly let me in early. I was never reimbursed for the visa.

After that fiasco, I started teaching, more teachers began to arrive, and the office/ accommodations were finished enough to let us move in (although construction was ongoing for weeks). The accommodations were ok, at first glance, but problems with the building persisted: there were constant power outages which led to spoiled food in our one communal fridge. Twice the wattage spiked, which destroyed my laptop and phone chargers (one teacher’s laptop was fried). These items were replaced relatively quickly, to be fair. Anytime we brought up these catastrophes at office meetings, the director claimed it was unfair to hold her responsible.

After teaching for 4 weeks or so, I was finally allowed to sign the contract, which promised the fixed monthly sum I wanted. I received about $300 for the entire first month of work. The teachers who had signed initially fared no better, because (despite it saying nothing of the sort in the contract, the monthly salary did not kick in until the start of the regular school year).

The biggest nightmare of the entire experience was the branch director. Even the staff despised her. She made the actual work at E-connect a torment. She butchered our lesson plans, which we often had to write with little notice (the schedule was tumultuous and seldom fixed), and gave what I felt was extremely personal criticism, like telling me I was a disappointment! Criticism of the teachers was allowed, you see, but she would not accept responsibility for any of the things listed above. The staff, at one point, lost a teacher’s degree and the director fired him when he got angry about it.

I never really understood what standing I was in, since the students and teachers at the schools where I worked offered high praise of my lessons, only to have the staff or director randomly tell me they were terrible, offering vague ways to improve them like, “be more fun.” My lessons at one school were cancelled randomly when the local government found out not everyone at E-connect had work permits. Some teachers were waiting on appointments at their respective consulates. Naturally, the director blamed them for not knowing Vietnamese education laws.

I’m not sure why I stayed so long. Being new to Vietnam, I thought maybe this was just how things were done and that I was being naïve to expect circumstances better…well, better than this. Next time I’ll trust my instincts and leave in 4 days instead of 4 months. Whoever you are reading this: don’t make the same mistake.

I wish I could give them zero stars.

October 31st, 2017 at 11:35 am

if you are interested in art :) visit this place

no photo available
October 31st, 2017 at 9:25 am

No matter whether it is a stylish hairstyles, brilliant hair coloring or perfect hair cuts in the hairdresser Em Hair Salon the personality of the customer is always in the first place, and of course the latest fashion trends and the professional handling of the comb and scissors...also Salon is a social enterprise that belongs to REACH, an local NGO. 100% of the profits go to support disadvantaged women and girls studying at REACH

no photo available
October 30th, 2017 at 7:25 am

This was the worst esl experience I have had.

Everything from teachers accommodation to management, organisation, and communication was messed up.

Most of what they promised was exagerated. Over time they slowly bailed out on promises. For example paying a lot less.

Giving teachers forward notice or fair warning of work commitments was non- existent. but they do expect forward notice from you.

Everything is done last minute leaving you hanging in the wind.

Management don't seem to have a clue whats going on. They are just as clueless as you are. This will end up being your problem and you'll be riden for it.

Your life with e-connect will be a full time frightmare,.

October 27th, 2017 at 9:45 am

You can't beat the quality of noodles at Bánh Cuốn Kỳ Đồng, and the Bánh Cuốn is top notch. This place is run by the nicest family and attracts a large number of smart locals, but there are plenty of us foreigners as well as tourists looking for a decent meal on Tong Duy Tan without spending a fortune.

no photo available
October 25th, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Worst Experience Imaginable!

E-connect does not follow the contract.

In fact, they only follow the contract just when it suits them. They regularly disregard contractual terms on a whim.

For example, we went from a monthly salary one minute to an hourly rate the next, because they said they were unable to get the hours they had wanted from schools.

Basically, doing whatever suited e-connect with complete disregard for teachers.

Some teachers generally the more accepting ones who didn’t make a fuss were not paid at all. Others were consistently short-changed. Vietnamese staff were regularly also not paid.

On occasions they outright refused to pay teachers anything, because apparently schools hadn't paid them, and they said they had no money to pay teachers! Broke!

Most stressful esl experience ever! You will worry, a lot, believe me!

no photo available
October 21st, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Went in with my girlfriend for a drink and maybe a bite to eat. Plenty of staff but no customers. Music volume was deafening. In fact, our ears started to hurt before anybody brought us a menu, so we left without ordering.

no photo available
October 18th, 2017 at 1:26 am

I found Lan online and was expecting a lot from the reviews I had seen. I have naturally dark blonde hair that wanted highlights and needed a tone and honestly I wish I had just box dyed it myself.
We agreed on a price at the beginning, and I had mentioned both on the phone and in person that my hair needed a tone. Obviously there was some kind of miscommunication on what toner actually is, but Lan told me that with toner would cost 4 million instead of 1.6 million.
When I said I disagreed, Lan started YELLING AT ME, which was so unprofessional and inappropriate, and telling me I was trying to trick him because I am a Westerner.
He proceeded to blowdry my hair as roughly as possible and without heat protector. It is weeks later now and my hair has never been in worse condition.

This guy clearly has a high opinion of himself, but has very little skill.

no photo available
October 9th, 2017 at 11:40 am

A food stand against the wall of a small alley, the broth here is clear, light and slightly sweet thanks to braised bones and good seasoning. The steak is tender and rich in taste. The noodles are also as good as the meat. Onion and herbs spice up the broth. The condiments are good — delicious garlic vinegar and chilli sauce. 8 out of 10 for overall taste.

no photo available
October 5th, 2017 at 6:16 am

Mr Cuong knows exactly what he is doing. Great skills. Hope to come back for more awesome haircuts.

no photo available
October 2nd, 2017 at 8:26 am

After having finally decided to get a health insurance in Hanoi, and having done a quick search online, the name that was always popping up was the one of Nick Veltre. So i gave it a go.
I wanna make clear that i'm quite finicky with everything, and this time was not exception. I had tons of questions and doubts to be answered since i wanted to be sure i'd choose the best insurance plan and company for my needings. Nick was there all along the process and answered all the questions i had through email rapidly, efficiently and thoroughly. And i mean the replies came very often few minutes after my inquiries. He also gave me any kind of suggestions and explained me where each company/plan differs in, giving me quotes from each of them and detailed brochures. Eventually it took me 2-3 weeks and hundreds of questions to decide what to choose, but he was patient enough to support me in every way he could, even if that implied mailing the company i eventually chose to add some coverage they didn't want to give me at first (for futile reasons...).
Last but not least, i had the feeling i could trust him in case some issue should raise with the insurance company, which is what a broker should always be there for.
For all these reasons i recommend him without reservations. Efficiency, honesty and straight talking: this is what you get.

no photo available
September 23rd, 2017 at 8:53 am

I had 6 months worth of regrowth, with quite dark roots I desperately wanted to fix. Realising how difficult it would be to find a decent hairdresser for blonde hair in Hanoi I was a little hesitant to take any risks, however I'm glad I did! Mr Dinh and his ?wife were so attentive and careful throughout the entire hair dying process. I have quite thick hair and it can be quite a challenge for any hairdresser to dye it properly, but Mr Dinh did a wonderful job! It's been a week since my visit and my hair is still a beautiful, natural blonde, even after many washes, no brassiness or dryness.
I would definitely recommend anyone to go to Dinh hair salon for a decent cut/colour!