TNH

  • Browse Spots
  • Review a Spot
  • Add a Spot
The Basics
Venue Categories
Some text
  • Activity Stream

All Reviews

TNH is the best way to find and connect
with local people and businesses!
Sign Up
no photo available
August 21st, 2017 at 9:59 am

Been here 3 times now. They have great black bread which brings me back. I also like the homely feel of the place. It's quite cheap too. My only criticism is that you should think about calling ahead as sometimes they are closed.

no photo available
August 21st, 2017 at 9:54 am

I took a 3 day tour in the mountains west of Hanoi with Thanh. Fantastic ride with brand new CRF 250cc hondas and 150 xr hondas. The bikes were faultless, not a single problem with 10 bikes the entire ride. If you want the best bikes this is the place.

no photo available
August 15th, 2017 at 11:01 am

Ordered half a kilo of chorizo online. Didn't get informed there is more than one variant. Got the imported spanish one at thrice the price. Called up management, blamed me for putting wrong order. Obviously, didn't get a refund.

no photo available
August 12th, 2017 at 7:14 am

My wife and I have lived in Hanoi for two years. At one time we found Yakushi spa to be a good place to go for a massage. Recently we found a spa that hands down beats any other we have visited. Bao Xuan Duong spa is a great experience. First, we enjoyed a sauna, then a message and 'treatment package' that lasted two hours. The massage was one of the best I have had. If you go for the deluxe massage, it will cost you 500,000 VND. If you are not interested in the spa and special oils, a 90 minute massage will run 300,000 VND. I encourage anyone looking for a legitimate spa to visit. As a medical professional, I can attest to their techniques and therapies. - Dr. David

no photo available
August 11th, 2017 at 7:22 am

I've had three haircuts at EM Salon and been 100% satisfied each time. The mini spa is very relaxing and an hour well spent. I am a western male and find the salon atmosphere comfortable and not intimidating. All the staff are very friendly and try very hard with their English. It's also supporting a very worthwhile cause in REACH. That's why I give the salon 5 stars.

no photo available
August 7th, 2017 at 4:32 am

DO NOT TAKE THEIR HALONG BAY TOUR!! Kangaroo cafe is the worst tour agency I have ever experienced. The tour guide Max is the rudest person in the world who should not deal in customer service. There are so many great tours in Halong bay, don't waste yours with this one.

no photo available
August 6th, 2017 at 8:55 am

If I could give this company a -1000 I would. The most disorganized, unprofessional company I've ever seen in Vietnam. The people here never take responsibility for anything, everything is always the foreign teacher's fault. I've seen instances where foreign teachers have had visa issues, have been paid late (Sometimes up to a month or later late), and the company accepted no responsibility or showed no remorse whatsoever. This company is all about the bottom line and could care less about its teachers or students. Also if you work here, good luck finding anything like oh, printing paper, a basic resource all teachers need, because apparently they can't afford this or just don't care to give it to the teachers so they can do their job. Some of the nastiest people I've ever seen in any company, they will stab you in your back so beware of this company and avoid at all costs!! One of the most horrible work experiences of my life happened with this company. Especially beware all single female teachers, I myself as a male have seen many instances where female teachers were discriminated against and abused by this company just for being female, and were treated with less preference than their male counterparts, such as being denied pay for the same thing the male teacher was paid for. This company doens't care what happens to the teachers or the kids, they're just trying to line their pockets and withold as much money as they can from you. Be careful to count your hours carefully as they will always miscalculate your hours, and conveniently these always work out to be less than your actual hours you worked. Avoid avoid avoid!!

no photo available
August 5th, 2017 at 12:29 am

Be careful.
They told me that they need many teachers, and I had been told to come to teach many hours but it is a spam. I got the schedule with 30 minutes or an hour per time with paid less than 15$ per hour and It is almost some hours per week that i was doing for 1 day at that time. How can you get many hours if you can have only a half or an hour per time and 1 day with 1 hour? LOL


back home
July 29th, 2017 at 4:12 am

Awful place, we visited and got seated on an empty balcony where the rain and wind just hit our faces, after trying the foods there we had food poisonings, I tried to contact the police but they already close the place before we came back. Avoid at all your costs. Just a place to make money without any morals.

no photo available
July 27th, 2017 at 8:32 am

phở cuốn là 1 món ăn rất ngon nó thanh mát, bổ dưỡng đầy đủ dưỡng chất very good

no photo available
July 27th, 2017 at 7:12 am

I worked for Washington Language Center for just 5 months, but I had an absolute wonderful experience with them. Someone from WLC picked me up at the airport when I arrived, they took care of my work permit (and everything that came along with it), and any problem I had was dealt with promptly and effectively.
I worked at the center where I really enjoyed teaching the older age-groups and I felt that the book was a great match with their level.
I also taught at a secondary school where I had a lot of freedom to teach the students how I saw fit. I really enjoyed that experience because learning a new language shouldn't always be about what's written in a book and with all the freedom I had, I was able to incorporate a lot of fun and educational activities into the mix!

Overall, my 5 months at Washington were great. Unfortunately I had to leave early for health reasons, and the company was very supportive on this matter.

I would highly recommend Washington Language Center

July 25th, 2017 at 6:45 am

I honestly don't know why this place gets such impressive reviews. Only thing outstanding here is the decor, but the food is very average in my opinion. I have enjoyed far better quality in Indian food elsewhere in Hanoi and other VN cities. VERY AVERAGE INDIAN FOOD AT DALCHEENI!

no photo available
July 23rd, 2017 at 6:39 am

Good pool, good alcohol, friendly staff. Great place to spend a night after work.

no photo available
July 19th, 2017 at 5:33 am

I have now been working for E-connect for 2 months and have never been made more welcome by a company. I understand that in the past, mistakes have been made. This is only down to lack of experience and things getting too big too fast. The effort that has now been put into making the whole company as professional as possible is second to none. I have contacted many existing members of staff and none of them have ever been underpaid, as stated by the the previous reviewer. The new branches are all completely refurbished and modern. The teacher contract and it's many many benefits would be hard to beat and I can say that with 8 years teaching experience in many different countries. what i will say to any teachers looking for a comfortable, steady contract with a full course provided for all classes, is to come and have a look for yourselves and then make up your own minds and to not only believe a review written by somebody who may or may not have had a problem in the past.

no photo available
July 12th, 2017 at 11:59 am

A lovely coffee shop with Japanese and English flavor. Excellent macha tea and coffee. Try the Ginger Tea!

July 3rd, 2017 at 8:42 am

That terrible review kept me from going to Big C for many months, but the truth is that my trip to this market (by bus #50 from E. Ba Dinh) was pretty good, and I'll go again. I couldn't find everything I needed, but this is crazy Vietnam, after all.

July 3rd, 2017 at 8:33 am

A great deal of fun at Games Night at Tea Talk Cafe

Y'all come!

July 3rd, 2017 at 4:05 am

hi there. ive been working for kella now for about 5 years. it suits me down to the ground. working mornings and afternoons gives me the free time i like in the evenings and the weekends. i get left to teach in my own style, and get to teach grade 10 and 11 (about 16 years old) which i find to be more fun than younger kids. for an experienced teacher who is confident of their ability and doesnt need much support, this job is a winner.

no photo available
July 1st, 2017 at 11:38 pm

I have just come back from a two week holiday in amazing Vietnam and I would like to highly recommend Miss Ly's Travel Agency in Hanoi.
We booked everything we did through Miss Ly's Travel Agency and we enjoyed every moment of our trip thanks to the fact that Miss Ly is absolutely reliable and we got much more than we thought we would.
All the day trips were filled with interesting activities which included lunch wherever we went and our guides were simply outstanding!
I highly recommend Miss Ly's Travel Agency! You will be fully satisfied with her professional and efficient work.

no photo available
July 1st, 2017 at 12:27 pm

I originally wrote my high scathing review of MIC on the 27th May. I decided to delete my original review and post a new review of the company. The sole reason being that I did not want my review to be buried underneath a review which is clearly fake or MIC put significantly pressure on one of their teachers to write the review.

The fake review I am referring to is by Peter Thomas. There are a few reasons why the review rings alarm bells. Between March 23rd 2015 and 27th May 2017 there had been 4 reviews of MIC. Less than a week after I posted my highly scathing review suddenly a review gushing with praise for the company appeared. The timing in itself is incredibly suspect.

The review is clearly trying to counter my review. Peter Thomas discusses a number of same areas as me such as the 21,000VND conversion rate issue and he talks about the consequences of having your business visa revoked.

Peter Thomas mentions how there is always two sides to each story about staff and the company falling out of love. I want to emphasis the fact that MIC never got me a job. I never turned up drunk or late to work because they never found me any work.

I acknowledge that my first interview with MIC was bumpy. I made many mistakes, I was inexperienced. MIC never had the guts to tell me that I was not good enough. They just told me to do a visa run and assured me there was work waiting for me once I got back from Bangkok. Then when I got back from Bangkok they just tried to stay quiet and duck under the radar. Still they did not have the guts to turn to me and say 'look you are not good enough, this will not work out'. Only after I kept messaging them did I eventually get the truth from them.

Peter Thomas made the comment that the schools away from the major cities (Ho Chi Minh, Hanoi and Da Nang) will not employ teachers directly and to get them jobs you have to use recruitment companies such as MIC. There is very much a flip side to this comment. The reason schools outside of the tier 1 cities and tourist areas use recruitment companies is because at least in some instances they struggle to recruit people on there own. A significant number of backpackers are reluctant to relocate outside of Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh. The company I am working for at the moment is having to put many incentives in place to encourage the people currently working for the Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh branches to relocate.

Here is my original review -

There is not enough negative words in the dictionary for me to fully convey how much I hate this company and Doan (one of the staff at the company). The company lied to me, wasted my time and I got banned from Vietnam because of them!

The first thing you need to know about this company is it is a recruitment company rather than a school or language centre in its own right.

When I had an interview with them I did not have any teaching interview. I did a demo lesson and they gave me lots of pointers on how to improve. I said I wanted part time work in Hanoi. We agreed on an hourly pay of $19 because of my lack of experience.

They quote you in dollars but pay you in dong. They have an atrocious exchange rate. They pay 21,000 Dong per 1$. Whereas a dollar is actually worth over 22,000 Dong. This may not seem like a big deal but it all adds up. At today's conversion rates (27th May), 399,000VND (19*21,000) only equals $17.59.

On the 24th Jan Doan said a lot of schools shut on that day for TET holiday and would open again around the 10th. I thought MIC would email me on the 9th, 10th or 11th regarding training or a potential job. On the 12th Jan I gave them a nudge.

They replied to my email and I agreed to go to there office on the 16th Feb. On the 16th they announced they didn't have work in Hanoi and asked me if I would be interested in working outside of Hanoi, doing 100 hours for $1200 and free accomodation. I was surprised the pay was so low, they said it was because the job was located outside of Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh. At the time I still trusted the company and did not have any teaching experience so I stupidly agreed to this terrible contract. At the time I had not even factored in the terrible conversion rate. It would probably actually of ended up being closer to $1150.

They then asked me to get my original documents sent from home and asked me to to do a visa run to Bangkok so they could get me a business visa. The flights and taxis to and from the airport cost over $200.

I got back to Hanoi on the evening of the 22nd Feb and then had to wait to the 27th to watch another teacher doing a lesson. Bear in mind every day I was sitting around waiting in Hanoi, I was spending $14 on food and accomodation.

Then after the 27th I did not hear anything from MIC. On the 4th March I said to them I will have to start applying to other companies because I could not afford to just keep sitting around. They told the government I was no longer working for them and said my business visa could now be treated as a tourist visa.

I did some trials with other companies and after an unsuccessful trial I returned to Hanoi. The immigration police then came knocking and started asking me why I was not working for MIC. I tried to explain to them that MIC never offered me a proper job.

Based on information a contact of mine told me, I now have reason to believe that MIC lied to the immigration department and said I just suddenly stopped responding to any of there calls. I get the impression they did not admit that they never were able to find me work.

Because of the fiasco with MIC I got banned from Vietnam.

Here are some more reviews of MIC

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1271106179640068/?hc_location=ufi

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1032634680153887/?match=bWlj&hc_location=ufi

https://www.facebook.com/groups/englishteachersbadexperiences/permalink/1039257099491645/?match=bWlj&hc_location=ufi


https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1907025002859593/?match=bWlj

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1910542292507864/?match=bWlj

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/1977667982461961/?match=bWlj


I believe Ta Tony works for MIC, he will message you privately on FB from his personal account rather than using the MIC page. I discuss it further in this post.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1517310348497729/permalink/2031776943717731/



In hindsight you do not need to sign up to a recruitment company to get work in Hanoi. Instead you can use this site (tnhvietnam) and the Hanoi English Teaching Jobs Facebook page. I have got many interviews ad job offers through the Facebook page. I just email my CV to anyone who advertised a job on the Facebook page. On my CV there is no teaching experience.

If you want to work outside of Hanoi and Ho Cho Minh you can still get jobs paying $20 an hour. If you want to work outside of the two major cities you do not need to lower your pay expectations.