TNH

  • Browse Spots
  • Review a Spot
  • Add a Spot
The Basics
Venue Categories
Some text
  • Activity Stream

All Reviews

TNH is the best way to find and connect
with local people and businesses!
Sign Up
no photo available
February 1st, 2018 at 6:36 am

Chris has been a huge help to me. I've always struggled with yo-yo dieting and the never ending cycle of it whilst hating going to the gym. Since training with Chris, he has educated me on flexible dieting and created exercise plans that will keep me motivated and interested. I'm nearly at my goal weight, and in all honesty haven't had to sacrifice too much for it! Thanks again Chris!

January 31st, 2018 at 7:06 am

Excellent treatment for an extraction this AM with Dr. Pham Thanh Cong. It was totally painless and I liked the fact that he did not try to sell me on other procedures. I will be back very soon!

no photo available
January 24th, 2018 at 11:12 am

It is difficult for me to begin to explain how much Karen has helped my mind, body, and soul. The energy and experiences she provides are unlike anything I have felt in my life. I had never experienced bodywork before and she opened a new world to me! She makes bodywork approachable, personal, and interesting to allow you to connect with the process in an individual, unique way. I have recommended Karen to both my friends and family and would encourage anyone seeking to better their life through growth and reflection to visit her. Her work is truly transformative.t is difficult for me to begin to explain how much Karen has helped my mind, body, and soul. The energy and experiences she provides are unlike anything I have felt in my life. I had never experienced bodywork before and she opened a new world to me! She makes bodywork approachable, personal, and interesting to allow you to connect with the process in an individual, unique way. I have recommended Karen to both my friends and family and would encourage anyone seeking to better their life through growth and reflection to visit her. Her work is truly transformative.

no photo available
January 14th, 2018 at 2:30 pm

I have bought a few pieces from Mr Long. He is among the best art curators in Hanoi. I love his galleries (he has a larger one near the Politechnic University (Dai Hoc Bach Khoa). He has good eyes to pick emerging talented young artists. His art is not decorative but the real art, with a lot of soul in it. Strongly recommend.

no photo available
January 10th, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Looks like I really dodged a bullet. I applied to work at E-connect in June and I was immediately offered a teaching position, which would start at the end of August.

At the very last minute -- that is, with only one week to spare -- they told me I have to get my documents notarized at my embassy in America in order to get my Vietnam work permit. Well, that is no easy task here unless you live near Washington DC or New York City. If you don't live near those cities, you have to plan at least a 3-day trip to get everything done. Aside from that, my documents would have had to be notarized by a notary in my state's capital BEFORE being notarized at the DC or NY embassies. For me, that trip to the capital would have been a 2-day trip.

The guy who hired me (who shall remain nameless) said I could get my docs notarized at the U.S. embassy in Hanoi when I arrived. But it turns out, the embassy there decided to close for the entire month of September for renovations. I let the guy know this, and he basically said: "TOO BAD."

I had already bought my nonrefundable flight, too. That REALLY angered me. They had told me they were impressed with my resume, told me everything was spot-on and perfect, and encouraged me to get my plane ticket.

I had zero clue that you had to get your documents notarized before working in Vietnam. Had they told me all of this back in June (instead of a week before I was scheduled to leave the States), I could have gotten everything done.

Besides all of this notary garbage, the guy who hired me said: "We can not put a teacher into a school posting without work permit and demo lesson." -- And again, he told me this AFTER I bought my plane ticket.

So, what if I HAD come all the way to Vietnam, only to be rejected because they (whoever "they" are) did not like my demo lesson?????

After considering everything, I told them to forget it and they can find another teacher. The guy who hired me said: "Well, I have enough teachers here for now, but Cities X, Y, and Z need teachers if you're interested."

NO WAY, I told him.

After reading these other reviews (as well as other negative reviews on other sites), I'm happy I did not join E-connect. I'm sorry the rest of you worked for them and had a bad experience.

I'm just glad there are hundreds of other teaching opportunities available in Vietnam.

E-connect needs to either shut down or finally get their crap together.

January 10th, 2018 at 12:20 am

I just started learning with TVO for a few months and I really enjoy their style & professionalism. My experience has been very positive and I look forward to each class with my teacher Mi. She is very sweet and talented. She helps makes learning Vietnamese fun and exciting. I highly suggest TVO for anyone interesting in learning Vietnamese. I live in Hawaii but learn via Skype and its great!

no photo available
January 8th, 2018 at 2:06 pm

I stopped working with Chris about 6 months ago after my post ended in Hanoi. I was working with him for nearly 2 years, and i cant honestly say he changed my life. I definitely had some ups and downs over the last 2.5 years, but i learnt so much about my self. The best thing is, i can stay at a weight which i feel good at and still eat the food i enjoy. This didn't happen over night, but it was worth the time and effort. 5 stars Chris!!

no photo available
January 6th, 2018 at 7:18 am

Eric and his team at Weslake-Physio have really saved me and I highly recommend them to anyone in Hanoi with physio needs.

A motorbike accident left me with compression fractures in 3 vertebrae. The hospital doctors, who did not speak good English, were not able to communicate to me best practices for recovery after they released me from hospital.

After being told to stay "immobile", I spent 3 weeks in bed, but then I went to see Eric and he explained EVERYTHING to me in detail, in incredible English, and made me much more confident about the recovery process. From day one, I felt like I was in good hands, and trusted him to help me.

Over two months I saw Eric 2-3 times a week and went through incredible transformation. He has adjusted his practice amazingly as I have progressed from being almost unable to twist and turn, to feeling 95% back to normal.

He combines manual manipulation and massage with exercises, as needed, and uses machines to help muscles relax. He takes great care to answer questions and concerns that you have.

I honestly don't want to know how things would have been different if I hadn't found Eric. He is extremely professional, knows exactly what he's talking about, and will treat you well, at a great price.

Thank you Eric and team!!!!

no photo available
Chanyf on
January 4th, 2018 at 2:11 pm

I came to Miss Ly to renew my visa, she's very helpful and friendly, the price is reasonable and clearly explained, I felt no pressure talking to her and will come back again in future. :)

no photo available
January 1st, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Avoid at all cost! They promised so much, but changed the agreement as they pleased. Our pay was changed to a much lower hourly rate and the housing was not as pictured. They gave us little choice or input, and moved the teachers and myself to a terrible location. Conditions there just got worse by the day.
There is no respect for the western teachers. Ha and Cindy should never be trusted. They constantly skim off the top and neglect Vietnamese staff. Who rarely, if ever, get paid.

There are many other opportunities all over Vietnam. The horror stories of E-connect are to numerous. Don't waste your time.

no photo available
tosi on
December 19th, 2017 at 4:40 am

Systema Hanoi is newly launched in Hanoi Vietnam. Classes are planned a few times per week. This is a life system for survival, fitness, relaxation, eventually making people calm. It originates Russian military combat system. Yet, not only does it concerns a combat and self-defense, but it also improves health, body consciousness, and well being. Men and women of all ages are welcome. The details of class schedules will be provided here soon. Come and join us! Pls visit blog and facebook.

http://systema-hanoi.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/446264092190982/

no photo available
JD34 on
December 9th, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Hi all,
I always see same doctor in FMP, this time I saw Dr.Mike, great doctor, highly recommended. FMP is expensive but worth every $ you pay.

JD

no photo available
December 8th, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Driver was perfectly on time and went to the desk to warn us.
Also helped with our suitcase even if the weight was a bit more than regular one.

My main complain is the speed he was driving, way faster than the others car and I can see 110Km/h on the speed meter when driving on the bridge. This is not acceptable as a service as I put my life in its hands. He don't need to impress me with his driving skills. Too fast is too fast, period. I can understand that Vietnam driving can be scary, but living for the last 15 years in China, I can assure you that your driver was faster than the others vehicles for sure.
It was not an impression at all. Passing cars and changing lane by the right side of the road at this speed is also not acceptable. The driving experience within the city was fine.
He also answer his phone during driving which is not allowed by law.
The car was going 110Km/h on the motorway where speed limit is 90 Km/h.

After complaining to the company contact (Lily), she asked me lie and to not put this review online... The excuses was that the driver was late to pick up another client. (and do not explain why answering the phone too).

I guess It's enough for you to avoid them on your next trip to Vietnam. I will be kind of surprise if they are even get insurance on their side if something happens.

It gives also a right idea of the great review you can find about them online.

I use the service on Dec 6, 2017, at 7.15, from Fortuna Hotel to the International airport.

Feel free to contact me for a copy of the email from them.

no photo available
December 7th, 2017 at 3:42 pm

TVO is an amasing teaching group. Before I was learning Vietnamese with TVO I bought studybooks and spend hours trying to work on my pronunciation. Yet, in the first lesson I had learned really a lot and I gained also quite a lot of confidence from it. The teachers are really patienced and kind. The best part is that they train you to actually blend in the Vietnamese society. So, If you're looking for a fun, practical and effecient teaching experience, TVO is your place to be :)!

no photo available
November 23rd, 2017 at 1:42 pm

A Little Hoian - Coffee & Tea represents Hoi An Ancient Town right in a corner of Hanoi City will make every guest feeling warm and welcomed when stepping inside.

November 22nd, 2017 at 4:06 am

I've learned with TVO for the past month nearby where I'm currently staying. I've decided to renew for another 10 lessons because of how effective they've been. The teacher was highly motivated and professional and the lessons were planned carefully. They were engaging and memorable, so I've retained most of what I've learned and I'm so happy with the amount of progress I've made. I would recommend TVO to anyone.

no photo available
November 20th, 2017 at 7:04 am

Read the other reviews, ignore the ones they put on facebook. Doesn't surprise me they have been banned for making fake accounts and posting reviews.

1st impressions they are nice but wait...
The company and especially the director will try to belittle you, and make you feel lucky you landed this dodgy job.
As others said she is a total sociopath.

Lesson plans don't make sense, TA's barely can hold a conversation in English. Teach 50+ students, every day you have to teach different schools hours away from each other.

They will try to find faults to give you less money or knock you down a notch, but they will try to keep you working there still.

Scum. Dodgy. Unprofessional. Liers. And proven they use fake accounts to boost their terrible reputation.

no photo available
November 20th, 2017 at 3:53 am

I have a plan open 1 class in my house for children from 4- 6 ages learning English, Can u help me to complete my plan. Please send me information about fees for 1,5 hours- 2 hours? Thanks u

no photo available
November 18th, 2017 at 9:53 am

Avoid this company. I was hired as an English teacher but had to leave due to gross dishonesty and organization issues.

They tell their teachers that they're going to employ them legally, but they're never going to make progress with the working permit. I spent a lot of money getting all my documents organized, only for my papers to collect dust. Contract was never signed, when asked about it I was always told different excuses.

There is no schedule, no lesson plans, no curriculum, no equipment, nothing. Everything is randomly made up on the spot. There's no telling whom you'll be teaching because they don't assign children to classes, just have them randomly join the lesson. Children keep arriving to the classes with no place to sit, you'd start with 20 children then by the end of the lesson there would be 45 children in your class.

I would work hard and try to organize things myself, but the manager would always interrupt my classes and have children do something else. Classes would always descend into chaos and the worst thing is, parents can see it. The whole place is full of cameras and your work is evaluated constantly. But at the same time, you don't get to do your job properly because you're sabotaged. Classes are interrupted or cancelled at the last minute, random people keep going in an out of the room (if there is a room...), you're told what you'll have to do five minutes before the lesson... and then you get blamed for all the problems, even though you don't have much say in matters. I was promised 1200$/month for full-time work (from 7:45 to 17:00), which is not much considering how much I was working, but I was also told this was the salary on the probation period, and if they're satisfied with my work they would raise it to 1400$. Spoilers: you're never going to make it out of probation period. And your classes are never going to be good, because they'll sabotage everything. The environment is unsuitable for learning.

Didn't get paid. I suspect the parents were scammed as well, but I have no proof of that.

no photo available
November 15th, 2017 at 10:45 pm

After completing my TEFL over the summer in HCMC, E-connect offered me a job at one of their branches near Hanoi. They offered a generous $25/hour and monthly salary and, after looking over the contract, I decided to accept. I flew to Hanoi where one of the staff picked me up and brought me to the nearby town where the branch was located. I was alarmed to learn the branch had not even been built yet! Only one or two other teachers had been hired at this point, and we were all put up in a rancid “love motel” nearby.

My biggest regret was not leaving within the first week. My room in the motel had standing water on the floor and the door would not lock. I mentioned this to the owner a few times, to no avail. When I asked about signing the contract, the office manager said I couldn’t until I got a work permit (I later learned some teachers had signed before leaving their home countries). I had to leave within a few days for a visa-run, as is typical when starting with a new company in VN. The office manager flew me to Bangkok for a day, but upon returning immigration agents refused to let me back into the country since the letter I was given for the business visa had the wrong arrival date on it. Panicking, I began calling the few phone numbers I had been given by some staff, but no one answered. Six hours later (at around 1:00 AM) someone called me back and I was able to hand it off to the immigration agent, who begrudgingly let me in early. I was never reimbursed for the visa.

After that fiasco, I started teaching, more teachers began to arrive, and the office/ accommodations were finished enough to let us move in (although construction was ongoing for weeks). The accommodations were ok, at first glance, but problems with the building persisted: there were constant power outages which led to spoiled food in our one communal fridge. Twice the wattage spiked, which destroyed my laptop and phone chargers (one teacher’s laptop was fried). These items were replaced relatively quickly, to be fair. Anytime we brought up these catastrophes at office meetings, the director claimed it was unfair to hold her responsible.

After teaching for 4 weeks or so, I was finally allowed to sign the contract, which promised the fixed monthly sum I wanted. I received about $300 for the entire first month of work. The teachers who had signed initially fared no better, because (despite it saying nothing of the sort in the contract, the monthly salary did not kick in until the start of the regular school year).

The biggest nightmare of the entire experience was the branch director. Even the staff despised her. She made the actual work at E-connect a torment. She butchered our lesson plans, which we often had to write with little notice (the schedule was tumultuous and seldom fixed), and gave what I felt was extremely personal criticism, like telling me I was a disappointment! Criticism of the teachers was allowed, you see, but she would not accept responsibility for any of the things listed above. The staff, at one point, lost a teacher’s degree and the director fired him when he got angry about it.

I never really understood what standing I was in, since the students and teachers at the schools where I worked offered high praise of my lessons, only to have the staff or director randomly tell me they were terrible, offering vague ways to improve them like, “be more fun.” My lessons at one school were cancelled randomly when the local government found out not everyone at E-connect had work permits. Some teachers were waiting on appointments at their respective consulates. Naturally, the director blamed them for not knowing Vietnamese education laws.

I’m not sure why I stayed so long. Being new to Vietnam, I thought maybe this was just how things were done and that I was being naïve to expect circumstances better…well, better than this. Next time I’ll trust my instincts and leave in 4 days instead of 4 months. Whoever you are reading this: don’t make the same mistake.

I wish I could give them zero stars.