• Browse Spots
  • Review a Spot
  • Add a Spot
The Basics
Venue Categories
Some text
  • Activity Stream

The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant

Name: The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant
Address: 19/F Pacific Place, 83B Ly Thuong Kiet , Hoàn Kiếm, Hanoi

Directions: The Rooftop is located on the 19th floor, Pacific Place Building, 83B Ly Thuong Kiet, in the corner of Ly Thuong Kiet and Phan Boi Chau street.

Phone: 39461901/090.222.070
21.02508561613173 105.84366917610168 Category:

Description: The Rooftop featuring a modern & spacious bar, lounge & restaurant in the heart of the city, hosting 2 DJ's nightly. Featuring 2 large cocktail bars, stylish restaurant over looking the city, and a laid back lounge, all this surrounded with our signature large outdoor terrace with incredible views to wind away those nights. Large 2 story basement parking for cars & bikes. Open from 9am everyday till the early hours of the morning.

Don't miss many of our special promos every month, including happy hours, live international Jazz band, monthly DJ party and many more.

Rooftop set lunch available everyday from only VND99,000. It includes one main course, rice, soup of the day, vegetables & a drink.

Rooftop, where else...

Rating: 3.1 on a scale of 1 to 5. Based on 30 reviews.

0 reviews

address icon NO 4 ALLEY 51/97 VAN CAO, Ba Đình, Hanoi

phone number icon 097.224.8975

30 Reviews (Followed by 13 users)

March 23rd, 2011 at 1:40 pm

I have been here twice now, 1st time was to meet up with a friend as this place is local to me, 120K VND for a glass of draft beer (this was about six weeks ago) I nearly spat the beer out when I found out but it was too precious to waste, needless to say one drink then we left!

Went here recently with my girlfriend to sample the food as the menu looked promising, not a great idea. We were trying to work out if this place was a bar trying to be a restaurant or the other way round, defiantly a bar with expensive bar food in a very confusing menu (It was all over the place).

First issue when we sat down was the plumes of cigar smoke from business types, fair enough they were outside on the balcony but it seemed to drift our way so we moved but the smoke followed and the music was too loud for a restaurant and definitely not of the background dining type.

Service was good but it should have been since I counted 18 bar/waiter staff so a 1 to 2 ratio staff/customers (not counting kitchen staff) on an early midweek evening. They looked bored and chatted amongst themselves, no problem except one decided to remove the 2 extra places on our table three quarters the way through our meal which was a bit odd.

Food was OK but nothing to write home about, my girlfriend had a very thin “steak” with the wrong sauce and I had tough pork ribs but the breaded coating was nice.

Not sure if we will be back, maybe for drinks & if so I will rethink my rating.

Edit: -

Just had a nice cheap lunch here and the place was busy, 70 to 80k for their set lunch specials. Drinks are a bit expensive though, Coke for 40k and beer for 60k (also mix drinks for 90k and cocktails for 125k) but I guess that just offsets the price of lunch and these are the normal prices for this place it seems. I think I was a bit harsh with my 2 star rating and I did get some feedback from the management although I came on a "special" night the 1st time and nope it wasn't Valentines night as I was in Halia with my girlfriend. I guess this is the place to come for a swanky drinks evening.

Click here to view what The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied about 75 months ago
The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied to Procco about 75 months ago
Dear Jason, Thank you for taking the time to both visit & post a review of Rooftop.nnI noticed you mentioned on your first visit that you paid 120K for a glass of draft beer? This I don\'t understand as our price for both bottle & draft beer is only 49,000 dong. The only exception to this is Corona bottles which is charged at 120K. As for the venue, as you can see the lower sunken left hand side of the venue is a bar, while the upper right hand side with the terrace is the restaurant from 8am to 9.30pm. After this time it becomes a lounge area. Smoking is not permitted in the upper restaurant part during restaurant times. From your review it looks like you ordered from the bar menu & not the restaurant menu, which is priced higher,(due to the fact it operates late in to the night) as our restaurant menu is very competitively priced when compared to other restaurants in our segment. (You can view our menu on Newhanoian) As for the music, we play background music until 9.30pm, at which point out 3 resident DJs start to play, after 10pm the music is bar music, however I agree sometimes even for a DJ bar it gets a bit too loud, something that has been addressed. Finally am happy you enjoyed our service, something we are always working to try & improve. As for staffing levels Rooftop only employees 12 servers, 5 hostess & 8 bar staff when you visited, & we operate over 3 shifts as we are full every lunch time & late evenings with all staff taking 1 day off per week. The reason people think we have more staff than we do, maybe is due to the fact of their speed & the layout of the venue. I hope you visit us again Jason in Rooftop maybe during happy hours as you live close by every Mon to Thurs evenings. Regards
(update! I have been looking into this matter & discovered the night you came we had a special event, so we were running a special drinks & food menu that evening which was priced a lot higher. Once a month we do these events, that will also explain the volume of the music that evening).
September 8th, 2013 at 10:30 pm

I have never been to Rooftop. Ever. I am writing this review because for a very long time - maybe a year- I have been receiving spam text messages from this venue. I have emailed them, and also messaged them through The New Hanoian, to ask to have my number removed from their list. To date they have not responded and I still receive messages from them.
One star to place that spams people and ignores polite requests.

1.000 năm Thăng Long
February 6th, 2011 at 9:07 pm

cool space. i really like the space here it has so much potential.

they often have a dj and sometimes play pretty good music.

the food is hit or miss and not consistent at all. you might get a well prepared dish one night but the next night if you order the same thing it sucks.

the service is an absolute freaking nightmare here. i don't understand they have like 30 waitstaff and bartenders working at all times and it is a complete s-show. they never get the order right, it takes FOREVER to get your food or drink and there is ALWAYS some sort of miscommunication at some point throughout the night.

also i'm not really into the crowd here although its pretty good for people watching. half the patrons are dooshbags in suits and the other half are rich spoiled vietnamese kids that take girls there to impress them before they go to nha nghi.

Click here to view what The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied about 75 months ago
The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied to giaihanoi about 75 months ago
Hello Richie, Thank you for taking the time to visit & review Rooftop, moreover your positive comments on the venue. We noted your comments about food & beverage orders taking a long time to be delivered, this is certainly not the case with food orders, as these are served in a very timely manner so I was surprised . As for drinks, yes sometimes there is an unfortunate delay, which we are trying very hard to correct, but remember unlike most places in Vietnam, our impressive collection of fresh juices & smoothies are made fresh. Add to this the size of the venue, & the fact we are very busy most lunches & nights, the volume of the music & the many different accents our guest have; & you start to see why Hanoi not only Rooftop has some issues like these. The food menu is always being reviewed & improved where it can, but I am surprised to hear you say that the same dish is different from one day to the next, as from my own & hundreds of our regular guest experience can say, this is not the case. Yes some old items on the menu may need alterations, as with any new business. As for our guests, they come from many corners of the global, especially Korea, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia US, Europe & of course Vietnam, & they all share a liking for similar things. Nice clean & stylish venue, with great views, friendly open minded people, lounge music & a place that is the value leader not only on food, but on drinks as well. In short a place that offers a quality & affordable experience. Unlike most popular bars & clubs in town, we don’t allow prostitution, & if you get to know some of the woman who come to Rooftop, you will discover that a large portion of our female guest are successful business woman & executives, or office workers out with friends to enjoy themselves.
Hope to see you again Richie at Rooftop, when things should be better, Cheers
April 13th, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Rooftop has a magnificent city view from the 19th floor. I was so surprised I totally lost direction and it took me a while to figure out which is where from up there. Big star for the view!

Waitstaff is very nice as well, even though there was some miscommunication due to language barrier, they do try their best.

Two stars off because: 1. Outrageously expensive for average/meh cocktail quality, and 2. blasting dj/disco-ish music in such a nice, high-class place on a weeknight. Hurt my head for four hours after getting back from Rooftop.

Recommend Rooftop for lunch. Rooftop is just super nice during the day, and the lunch set is quite reasonably priced. Perfect for business lunches.

UPDATE on 04/15/11: Rooftop responded to my review, as you can see below. I'm very, very impressed with your professionalism, the way you handle customers' reviews, the way you take criticism and comments. It gives the impression that you're always willing to listen and improve yourself. Props for Rooftop! After my last visit I didn't think I would return, since Rooftop at night doesn't seem to be my cup of tea, but your response sure changed my mind. I hope next time I'm there I'll happily give you a five-star review. MANY other places should learn from your attitude and professionalism.

Click here to view what The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied about 74 months ago
The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied to chikacherry about 74 months ago
Hi, thank you for taking the time to both visit & review Rooftop, it means a great deal to us here. Yes the views from all 4 corners are impressive both during the day & night, but especially like you say on the terrace during the day time. I do agree with your offer comment about the music being to loud, this we corrected a few weeks back, but last night it seems we hit a snag there again, however rest assured the music volume & moreover the quality will be back to what you have come to love & expect from such a venue. Only thing I have to beg to differ on is the comment regarding our cocktails being expensive, in our market segment we are by some way cheaper than almost all our competitors, as for the cocktail you had being average, we are in the process of introducing some more modern fresh to Hanoi cocktails in the coming weeks. Hope to meet you at the bar trying them all very soon.
November 29th, 2010 at 8:48 am

We went here on Sat to meet friends. We weren't allowed in until our friends came to the door to meet us to prove we already had a table (as they claimed that there were no available tables, yet there were some free ones when we went in). People were dancing and it looked like a fun place.

The view from the outside area, which stretches the length of one side of the restaurant/bar, was amazing and was really nice area to sit and talk. A glass of wine cost 160k and a Barcardi/coke cost 120k. Would work out better value to buy a bottle of spirits for your table. The staff didn't know what a Barcardi or rum was so we had to go into the bar ourselves to order it. Only stayed for a couple as it's a bit pricey. Next time will order the whole bottle.

Click here to view what The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied about 76 months ago
The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant replied to IrishGirl about 76 months ago
Hi Leona, Thank you for taking the time to visit & review Rooftop, it is highly appreciated. I noticed you had some concerns when you first arrived at the venue & with pricing & service which I would like to address. On weekends for sure most tables in the lounge areas are reserved for people with reservations, just like you get with a restaurant say. That\'s why when you arrived there may have been some empty tables, however unless both bar areas are over crowded we don\'t stop people coming in regardless if they have a table or not. End of the day it\'s a standing & seating place. As for the drinks, mixer drinks are priced at VND100,000 including mixers with Red bull. Moreover we are one of the few bars in the world whose measures are 40ml, most bars serve only 30ml, & in Europe 25m is the norm, so when you consider the price for drinks in Vietnam, we are amongst the cheapest, & that\'s before you consider the type of venue you are in. Remember we don\'t charge TAX or S/C. As for our staff not understanding you\'re English, yes when we first opened this was at times a problem, however, now more than 60% of the staff speaks English! & a problem which is the curse of Hanoi, i.e. bad service will hopefully be a thing of the past at Rooftop very soon. Oh & yes, buying bottles always works out cheaper; you get 18 shots in the bottle so you will save a bit!

If you like The Rooftop Bar & Restaurant...

Groups Seen Here

No group events have been hosted here

Search Nearby

Search Spots



Spot Tips

Login to submit a tip for this spot.